top of page

Tailblock - 'There Or Be' EP Review


1. Think Or Be

2. Heavy Arms

3. Rocket

4. Blisters

5. Listen

6. 100

Tailblock may not be easy to categorise, but they are certainly easy to like, this hearty trio are poised to break out this year. Tailblock release their EP, 'Think Or Be', on Friday 13th July.

With Ian Sadler at the helm, this new release is a cut above their debut record. Expressing a cluster of earnest and driving tracks, the EP gleams from the speakers with its enticing rhythms and colossal refrains.

We kick off proceedings with title track “Think Or Be” - it’s fast, energetic and groovy. The riffs between each verse are electric - this track has the prefect balance of Alternative and Post-Hardcore bleeding throughout. Ending with the band jamming out, it beams out the true nature of Tailblock.

Next we riff into a similar sounding tracks “Heavy Arms” and “Rocket” these songs hold powerful lyrics which have the struggles of life - such as “Give me a shot, give me a job” and “I’m living 10 years younger but I’m feeling 30 years older”. Tailblock have crafted a sound which is current, relatable and catchy but we’re only half way through.

Now time to listen hard for a change in tune... “Blisters” brings the Post Hardcore heart of Tailblock. It’s an massive change in sound for the three piece from Dartford compared to the first three tracks - it’s brave to flip the genre so rapidly but they’ve managed to pull it off. We now calm down a little for the slower tracks in “Listen” and “100” - both tracks pour out with talent, Tailblock have taken there sound to the next level.

With multiple genre cross overs this EP has something for everyone. Overall “There Or Be” is outstanding - its an EP which showcases the pure talent of Tailblock in many different lights.

Review - Jake Williams

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page