top of page

Pretty Pistol - 'Welcome To The Dead Club' EP Review

1. Cry Wolf

2. Drive Me To The Dogs

3. Hurricane

4. No Guts (This Is Glory)

‘Welcome To The Dead Club’ the new EP from South London punksters Pretty Pistol on SaySomething Records hit the streets on Friday 13th April. This follows their ‘Bones’ EP from last year. There is certainly an old school Punk influence at play here; all the songs clock in at less than three minutes each, but there is so much energy, passion and power in them that they are by no means undervalued.

The EP was recorded with John Mitchell who has also worked with You Me At Six and Enter Shikari among others. I can hear traces of Johnny Rotten and Poly Styrene the sadly departed lead singer of prime 70s Punk band X Ray Spex in Laura Le Rox’s rich, rasping, roaring vocal onslaught.

This EP, for me, was clearly made to be played loud, the sheer depth of noise, and this is incredibly good noise, is like Sharknado getting to grips with King Kong in a fight to the death. But it is not just about the vocals, Billy Larsen squeezes the life out of his guitar with the force of tectonic plates driving into each other. Add to that the uber Punk bass lines of Rich Cooper and the kind of drumming that could almost certainly wake the dead from Emma Waller.

The EP kicks off with a no nonsense and fiery call to arms in “Cry Wolf” in which Laura sings as though her life depended on it. There is no let-up in the supersonic aural assault across the four tracks which ends with the towering “No Guts (This Is Glory)”.

Pretty Pistol really mean business and this release proves beyond doubt that they mean it maaaan!

Review - Bill Adamson

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page