top of page

Epica - 'Ωmega' Album Review


1. Alpha - Anteludium

2. Abyss Of Time - Countdown To Singularity

3. The Skeleton Key

4. Seal Of Solomon

5. Gaia

6. Code Of Life

7. Freedom - The Wolves Within

8. Kingdom Of Heaven part 3 - The Antediluvian Universe

9. Rivers

10. Synergize - Manic Manifest

11. Twilight Reverie - The Hypnagogic State

12. Ωmega - Sovereign Of The Sun Spheres

It’s been a while since I last listened to Epica and I will admit I was looking forward to hearing their new release 'Ωmega'.

Sadly though it seems to have fallen short of my expectations. Symphonic Metal is a difficult genre to get right, it can be full of cliché, it sometimes doesn’t gel with itself. 'Ωmega' is worryingly full of the wrong bits and is lacking in the right bits. As I listen through this long player I am reminded of old “Stout” adverts, never a great start to an album.

I can imagine 'Ωmega' being used as a movie soundtrack for an alt Snow White type movie. The grunted vocals do nothing for me and really don’t gel well with the female vocals which for me are a bit too polished. Don’t get me wrong, Epica have released a well polished, well produced and well played album on 'Ωmega', it just doesn’t deliver as a piece.

I’m finding myself skipping tracks after a few minutes, waiting for it to truly pack a punch. It just doesn’t. Sorry, I’ve had enough, I made it to the end of 'Ωmega' but it was a battle of wills. I just does nothing for me. I would rather listen to Enigma or even Clannad, at least they don’t have those infuriating grunts.

Website -

Review - Andrew Forcer


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page