top of page

Supersonic Blues Machine - 'Californisoul' Album Review


1. I Am Done Missing You

2. Somebody's Fool (feat. Robben Ford)

3. L.O.V.E.

4. Broken Heart (feat. Billy Gibbons)

5. Bad Boys

6. Elevate (feat. Eric Gales)

7. The One

8. Hard Times (feat. Steve Lukather)

9. Cry

10. The Stranger

11. What's Wrong (feat. Walter Trout)

12. Thank You

13. This Is Love

Supersonic Blues Machine comprise the 'heavyweight' trio of Lance Lopez (guitar & vocals), Fabrizio Grossi (bass) and Kenny Aronoff. On this follow-up to their debut release, “West Of Flushing, South Of Frisco” they deliver a dynamite blend of Blues, Rock, Soul and more over a generous 13 tracks – the trio helped out by some rather well-known guests – more of whom later!

The album was produced, recorded and mixed by Grossi at Fab's Lab in North Hollywood, with most of writing done by Messrs Lopez and Aronoff. The vision that Fabrizio Grossi had was of soundtracking an imaginary road trip up the Californian coastline in the early 70s . . . and the trio have certainly captured that feel over the course of the tracks.

So what of the guests? First to make an appearance is Robben Ford, who trades some tasteful guitar with Lopez on the strutting rocker “Somebody's Fool”; the legendary ZZ Top front man and guitarist Billy Gibbons contributes to the excellent “Broken Heart” - both on guitar and writing duties; the riff-heavy “Elevate” sees Eric Gales back after contributing on the first album.

Toto guitarist Steve Lukather joins the trio on the soulful “Hard Times”, with powerful vocal from Lance Lopez. The final 'guitar slinger' guest to join the party is the rejuvenated Walter Trout – bringing some very tasty slow Blues to “What's Wrong”, which meanders nicely over six minutes plus.

Elsewhere “L.O.V.E.” rides on a nice harmonica and guitar groove and the funky “Bad Boys” sees Lance Lopez excelling with fine wah-wah guitar and the background vocals of Andrea and Francis Benitez Grossi. The excellent closing track “This Is Love” is another stand out, with a reggae groove and some fiery guitar, driven along by the top rhythm section of Grossi and Aranoff.

This comes highly recommended for all lovers of top class Blues, Rock, Soul and more – delivered by musicians truly at the top of their game!

Review - Grahame Rhodes

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page