top of page

Frank Carter And The Rattlesnakes – 'Sticky' Album Review


1. Sticky

2. Cupid's Arrow

3. Bang Bang (feat. Lynks)

4. Take It To The Brink

5. My Town (feat. Joe Talbot)

6. Go Ge A Tattoo (feat. Lynks)

7. Off With His Head (feat. Cassyette)

8. Cobra Queen

9. Rat Race

10. Original Sin (feat. Bobby Gillespie)

If you’re looking for an album full of saccharine love songs with no political engagement and no real honesty in its lyrics then jog on, this isn’t for you.

Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes have been going since 2015 and while, arguably, there has been a slight mellowing in their approach, what has never been in doubt is their commitment, their honesty and their sheer impact.

The music might be slightly more accessible and is probably attracting a wider audience but that’s a good thing when you’re as good as this band. The lyrics deal with alienation, the state of this country, personal issues and life. They don’t hold back on attacking the stupidity of some people and questioning their actions,. They are at times a bit brutal, a bit too honest and a bit too impactful, so what? Frank Carter’s lyrics don’t deal in banalities, thankfully, he deals in what he’s really thinking and feeling, which is all you can ask of an artist.

The music is as good as ever, this band are one of the UK’s great live acts right now but are an underrated band when it comes to the quality of their music, this could be the album to bring them to a wider audience, the swearing might put some off but there are songs on here that should have a much more widespread appeal.

It’s not an album to put on for moments of quiet introspection, what it does do is make you think, make you want to get up and change the world and make you want to dance, what more do you want from an album?

The Punk sensibilities of this band are still there, they will never disappear but they are tempered with a real knack for melody and, whisper it, almost Pop sensibility. It is too hard to pick a favourite song, there are so many quality songs on here, there is nothing about this album I don’t like, I think it may be a contender for album of the year.

This is not an album to put on and play to your 95 year old grandmother unless she’s Punk for life but it is the sort of album, full of ambition, rage and talent that we need in this messed up world right now.

Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes are about to go out on tour, you really need to go see them but before you do buy or download this album, it’s something you won’t regret!

Review - Iain McClay


Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page