top of page

Goings - 'It’s For You' Album Review


1. Phone Numbers

2. W Blue-Sky Lives

3. Trying//Dying

4. Haircut 1000

5. It's For You

6. Voicemail

7. Nothing Without You

8. Elevator

9. Algorithm

I’ll be honest, I really struggled to get in to writing this review, the problem was the opening track, it just didn’t do it for me which didn’t encourage me to listen to the rest of the album, I think Goings might want to reconsider the running order of this album as it feels like they opened with one of their weaker songs.

On the whole, once I started listening to the rest of the songs, I realised this is band who have a lot of potential but not every song was up to the same standard, it feels like there needs to be a degree more quality control enforced, there are a couple of songs on the album that feel like they meander along without really doing anything or saying anything.

When they do get it right though they produce some excellent music which deserves a listen. There is a lot of experimentation going on in most of the songs and they do take some interesting and at times, fascinating turns. I would say at least 75% of this album is well worth listening to and suggests real talent. If they can move away from, what feels to me, like filler tracks, then they could produce something that grabs a lot of attention.

As it is, some of the songs on this album, could find themselves getting a lot of play time. It just didn’t quite work as a whole piece of work for me but are several songs I will be adding to a playlist.

Website -

Review - Iain McClay

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page