top of page

Lordi – 'Killection' Album Review


1. Radio SGC 10

2. Horror For Hire

3. Shake The Baby Silent

4. Like A Bee To The Honey

5. Apollyon

6. SCG10 The Last Hour

7. Blow My Fuse

8. I Dug A Hole In The Yard For You

9. Zombimbo

10. Up To No Good

11. SCG10 Demonic Semitones

12. Cutterfly

13. Evil

14. Scream Demon

15. SCG10 I Am Here

In true Lordi style, this album is a ridiculous concept, but in such a good way. The idea is that it’s a Greatest Hits collection of a fictional band, which gives them the chance to embrace all different eras and styles of Metal – you’ll find all kinds here, giving a variety throughout the entire listening experience. The whole thing is set as if it’s a radio broadcast going wrong – all of the SGC10 tracks are links from the shock-jock “Rockin’ Ruiz” between the songs, as he doesn’t realise that this particular playlist seems to be summoning demons and generally causing all kinds of hell-related mayhem.

This is a great concept, and it’s one I was really happy to buy into and enjoy. And on first listen this is an enjoyable collection, telling it’s overarching story while simultaneously hearing Lordi-style riffs on different eras of Metal including the synth-filled 80’s wonder of “Horror For Hire”, the Soft Rock ballad of “Like A Bee To The Honey” and the Psychedelic seventies feel of “Zombimbo”. Unfortunately, how you feel about these songs will probably be tied to how you feel about that style of music – as is often the problem with parodies, if you don’t particularly enjoy the style / era that is being parodied, you’ll probably not fall in love with the parody either, no matter how clever or well done it is.

There are a couple of absolute classic songs on here – “Shake The Baby Silent” is brilliant and already on my list of 2020’s best songs. I’m also a fan of “I Dug A Hole In The Yard For You” – it’s a spot on parody, and the lyrics make me laugh every time I hear the chorus. My last recommendation for a great song on this Killection is “Evil” which I just thing is an absolute banger.

The band sound like they are having the time of their lives with this collection, and I am firmly of the belief that a band having fun is much more listenable than a band trying furiously to file their edges off to be better loved. It’s a shame that there aren’t as many memorable songs as I would have liked on this album, but it’s still a good listen and definitely worth your time.

Website -

Review - Michael Braunton

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page