top of page

Kid Kapichi – 'Sugar Tax' EP Review


1. Glitterati

2. 2019

3. Revolver

4. Make It On Your Own

5. Death Dips

There’s a revolution going on, a musical revolution. It’s happening in Hastings, yes, Hastings. And who is spearheading the fight? Kid Kapichi, alright! It’s not exactly a battle, more a skirmish as bands jostle for the right to put Hastings on the map as a hotbed of indie/alternative rock, and the homegrown four-piece are current contenders for the crown.

Contenders? Forget it, they own it. Fronted by the roaring Jack Wilson and Ben Beetham, who double up on lead guitar/vocal duties and backed up by the machine gun of George Macdonald’s drums and explosive, driving bass of Eddie Lewis, Kid Kapichi have already stormed the boards with the likes of Slaves, Fat White Family, Fizzy Blood and Pretty Vicious.

‘Glitterati’ is the opener on this five-track EP, and what a belter it is. There is a bit of Blur about it but it’s an instant earworm with a great hooky chorus and you should check out the vid that goes with it. With tongues firmly in cheeks, the band show their personable and humorous side, despite the insightful message on the state of the nation’s self-obsession and narcissism, and the need to share it with the world.

These guys have their finger on the pulse. ‘2019’ is a comment on greed and the growing divide between the classes, while ‘Revolver’ screams ‘too young to die, but I’m gunna try’, depicting wanton violence on the streets, a somewhat prophetic ode as Ben and Jack got beat up after a night on the town not long after writing the song.

The foursome site other Hastings bands, like The Kiffs and Lucky Girl as ones to watch, both regulars at local venues, The Brass Monkey and The Printworks, but Kid Kapichi are ahead of the game. With tour dates coming up and prestigious European support slots with Frank Carter and The Rattlesnakes, the band’s trajectory is certain.

The aforementioned ‘2019’ is a favourite of BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac and Jack Saunders. The EP also features ‘Make It On Your Own’ with more Blur influences on display and final track ‘Death Dips’ closing with the ‘haunted house’ sound that permeates many of the songs and is the band’s signature.

‘Sugar Tax’ is a fine EP but do yourself a favour and at the very least make sure you hear ‘Glitterati’, you won’t forget it, or Kid Kapichi in a hurry.

Review - Mark Welby Johnson

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page