top of page

Lordi – 'Recordead Live: Sextourcisum In Z7' Album Review


1. Sexorcism

2. Would You Love A Monsterman

3. Missing Miss Charlene / House Of Ghosts

4. Your Tongue’s Got The Cat

5. Heaven Sent Hell On Earth

6. Mr Killjoy

7. Rock The Hell Outta You

8. Blood Red Sandman

9. It Snows In Hell

10. She’s A Demon

11. Slashion Model Girls

12. Naked In My Cellar

13. Rock Police

14. Hug You Hardcore

15. Evilyn

16. The Riff

17. Nailed By The Hammer Of Frankenstein

18. Who’s Your Daddy

19. Devil Is A Loser

20. Hard Rock Hallelujah

Just like almost everyone else I know, I’d never heard of Lordi before their infamous Eurovision Song Contest win in 2006 with the now infamous “Hard Rock Hallelujah”. And just like everyone else, I thought that was a pretty good song and then totally failed to listen to anything else by them. So when I got the chance to review this live album, I thought it’d be a good way to acquaint myself with the vast majority of their catalogue and listen with fresh ears.

And you know what? This is a damn good album by a damn good band.

Lets get the boring bits out of the way first – it’s a live album, which some people love and some hate. The production is great, the atmosphere is great and as someone who is not a die-hard Lordi fan, I think the tracklisting is pretty damn good too. The band sound tight and polished, though I suspect not as polished as they are on a studio album – but that’s kind of the point, isn’t it. If you’re already a die-hard Lordi fan, then you can skip to the end of this review which will recommend you buy this!

But for those of you who are on the fence, what you want to hear about is the music – and Lordi do a fantastic job of writing great tunes with chunky riffs, memorable tunes and some brilliant tongue-in-cheek lyrics. Just a few of the songs that have been stuck in my head since listening to this album are “Would You Love A Monsterman”, “Rock The Hell Outta You”, “Hug You Hardcore” and “Who’s Your Daddy” – all catchy and very easy to sing along with. Couple that with some of the riffs that stick in your brain like the brilliant opening for “Devil Is A Loser” and “Heaven Sent Hell On Earth” to name just two more.

Now for the eternal question – is this album worth buying? If you are a die hard fan then you already know the answer – a big fat yes. If you are not a fan, I would say that it is definitely worth a listen and, if you enjoy the style of the first few tracks, then it’s incredibly worthwhile. It seems to accurately capture the excitement and enthusiasm of the band live on stage, while simultaneously providing you with a setlist of the band’s best work. Buy it, stream it – I’m pre-ordering the vinyl copy as I type this!

Website -

Facebook -

Review - Michael Braunton

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page