top of page

TMBOY – 'Steam' Album Review


1. Held Under

2. No One

3. Steam

4. Focus

5. Seed

6. Zephyr

7. Hands

8. The Light

9. Submarine

10. Foundation

The first song started, and I will be honest, I initially wasn’t sure. It felt a little bit aimless at first, then it really got going (or maybe I just started to get what the band were trying to do), I found myself listening more closely. I’m not sure the lead singers voice will be for everyone, but it really grew on me, there is a fragility and vulnerability that surfaces at times in a way that is spellbinding. It’s a beautiful voice that deserves a very wide audience.

There are interesting soundscapes going on behind the lyrics, sometimes they almost feel like they about to jar but they never do, they always stay on just the right side of perfect.

The music itself has a sort of House, Electronic and Techno feel to it, at times it reminded me of bands like the Beloved and on one song, slightly bizarrely, Kate Bush, there was even a bit of a Sugarcubes vibe that appears briefly.

I think what I’m trying to say is they don’t sound like anyone else, but they have pulled in bits of some excellent artists, mixed it with their own unique talent and made something new, interesting, challenging but ultimately beautiful.

There’s a surprising soul and depth to this album that just made me want to keep listening. Often this kind of music can feel cold and emotionless, nothing could be further from the truth here, its packed full of emotion.

Review - Iain McClay

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page