top of page

Flat Earth - 'None For One' Album Review


1. Subhuman

2. Blame

3. Given Time

4. Cyanide

5. None For One

6. The Glow

7. Noble Swine

8. Limelight

9. Freedoom

10. Blunt

11. Kill My God

Flat Earth feature ex members of H.I.M, Amorphis and Polanski. Mikko "Linde" Lindström and Mika "Gas Lipstick" Karppinen were in H.I.M, Niclas Etelävuori is from Amorphis and Anttoni "Anthony" Pikkarainen arrived from Polanski. The band have their debut album, ‘None For One’ out now on Drakkar Records and while there are clearly signs of an influence by the members previous bands there is so very much more on offer here. These Finnish rockers know their music history. Some might say that they stand firmly in the Metal camp but everything from Psychedelica, through Prog and the 90s Alternative scene is audible on this classy album. There are elements of everyone from Yes, Procul Harum, Anthony Kiedis, Placebo, Mansun and all of the best 70s Rock.

The sound is meaty and hard, this is a band that knows how to play as a unit. The production is crisp and crystal clear. The rhythm section of booming bassist Niclas Etelävuori and drummer Gas Lipstick underpins an immense sound. Gas Lipstick drums like an Ice Giant using huge tree trunks to beat out a pounding tribal beat on a mountain range. Lindström’s mountainous guitar riffs and swirling solos sound like he has become a part of his instrument. On top of all that is the emotion wracked and almost desperate sounding yearning vocals of Pikkarainen.

The album kicks off with Flat Earth’s first single, “Blame” which was released back in April and it is a clarion call which pulls you in to the album with a tight Gothic Metal grip. The harmonies subtle but stunning and, let me whisper it, their Pop sensibility is definitely evident on this song. “Cyanide” was another single and it opens like some kind of Prog Folk jig before the seismic riffage and Metal mayhem begins, definitely my favourite track after two spins. The band’s punkier side is present on “Freedom” although the vocals are more in line with British Heavy Metal, perhaps Judas Priest in their softer moments. Flat Earth display their own softer side on “Given Time”, if this song doesn’t get the Zippo’s (other lighters are available!) alight and aloft at music festivals across the world soon I will be surprised and saddened. The almost retro riffs on “Kill My God” are like rocket fuel that take this song into the stratosphere.

The album was produced by Hiili Hiilesmaa at Finnvox in Helsinki. I should also give a special mention to the surreal and scarily gorgeous cover artwork from Minna Niskanen. That picture will work so well on a vinyl copy of the record. This is the only Flat Earth you should believe in!

Website -

Review - Bill Adamson

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page