top of page

Katie Knipp - 'Take It With You' Album Review


1. Ya Make It So Hard To Sing The Blues

2. I Don't Sing For You

3. Letters

4. Metro In Paris

5. I Will Stick Around

6. Come Back

7. Get Outta My Dream

8. Santa Cruz Blues

9. Another Round

10. Last Man Out

One simple word describes this album, marmite, you are either going to love it or hate it. It stands or falls totally on Katie’s voice. If you like her voice, and I’m afraid its not for me, then you will love this album.

The song writing and the playing is all good quality, at times its excellent. I could not find fault with any of it and I wanted to as I know how personally someone can take criticism of their voice but, and I would stress this is a very personal opinion, I felt like the singing was trying to hard to be different, quirky and affected. It just didn’t work for me. I strongly suspect that this album will become beloved by people who love Katie’s voice, I can understand why, great songs sung with passion and commitment.

My recommendation is listen to this album, if you love it, you will totally love it and never believe a word I write again (if you do just now that is). If, like me, the voice doesn’t do it for you don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Please give this album a listen, I think there are a number of you who will want to buy it and treasure it, one of the joys of music is that we don’t all like the same thing, I’m so glad that’s the case. It would be far too boring otherwise. Katie Knipp, she could be your next favourite singer, try her!

Review - Iain McClay

Featured Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Us On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page